Just Kampers Forums

Fitting Gas Struts

Use this forum for your camper technical posts.

Fitting Gas Struts

Postby CraigJones » Sun Jul 19, 2009 7:47 pm

Right

I have a 1979 Devon Moonraker. I am a complete novice, although I have been active and researched but don't seem to find the ansers to my gas strut fitting problem

2 issues:

- How do I compress the brand new gas struts purchased from camerpershop?  I only have one I can't fit because I need to compress it first. I can't seem compress them myself before fitting as they are incerdibly sttiff.  Will they compress when I pull on the roof?

- See photo's - how do I get this old gas strut off? It is so close to the roof fibreglass.  Any ideas?

Please see attached photos.

Cheers. this is my first technical post, so I hope you can help.
CraigJones

Fitting Gas Struts

Postby oilybay » Mon Jul 20, 2009 6:00 am

Apparently ratchet straps will compress gas struts so you can pop them off and on. :)
being fat has its advantages, I am much harder to kidnap for example.
oilybay

Fitting Gas Struts

Postby andrewvevers » Mon Jul 20, 2009 12:47 pm

I had this roof on my last camper. Firstly make sure you are fitting them the right way round as there are two sizes.

Secondly, if you prop the roof up with a piece of wood it will open just a bit more than the travel of the gas struts so you won't have to compress them.
andrewvevers

Fitting Gas Struts

Postby SCHOALSEY » Fri Jul 24, 2009 9:07 am

as andrewvevers said, try to fit them when the roof is up then they dont need compressing. try to make sure they are the identical size type to the original or they may twist the roof.

Also check the condition of the fixing brackets as the new struts may put undue pressure on old brackets resulting in them failing under load and punching through the roof! (not nice, happened to mine)
SCHOALSEY

Fitting Gas Struts

Postby CraigJones » Sat Jul 25, 2009 12:31 pm